Chocolate, Cookies, Dessert, Gluten-Free

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites

This recipe will freak some of you out. Seriously. You’ll think I’ve gone a little nuts. But let’s all remember what I always say on this blog: I am always ready and eager to try something new. Even if it involves chickpeas. At this point, most of you probably stopped reading and double checked the title of this post because you were pretty sure you were in a cookie recipe. You’re right. We’re talking about cookies. And Chickpeas. I made these cookies and took them to my Bible study group last night. I baked them there so they were warm and gooey. And no, I didn’t mention the chickpeas. I wanted an untainted reaction. And do you know what? Everyone LIKED them! I mean really liked them! And then, when I told my healthy-food-loving girl friends what was in them, they were even more impressed that these cookies could come from chickpeas! So, without further ado, here you go. 😉

what you’ll need:

  • 1 1/4 cups canned chickpeas, well-rinsed and patted dry with a paper towel
  • 2 tsp.vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp.  natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I use dark chocolate)

how you’ll do it:

preheat oven to 350*
pour your chickpeas into a bowl and use hand blender to puree them
2012-07-15_16-40-33_922

or put them in a food processor
2012-07-15_16-53-47_257

add all ingredients and use hand blender or add to (full-size) food processor
2012-07-15_17-01-05_544

fold in chocolate chips and use ice cream scoop to scoop out onto parchment paper on a cookie sheet
2012-07-15_17-08-52_969
Bake for 10-15 minutes

Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of the finished product, but they were great, and so full of protein. Now, I dare you to try them 😉

1 thought on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites”

Leave a Reply

