Breakfast, Vegetarian

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Happy 2013 everyone! This is my first post of the new year, and if you’ve been around with me for a while you’ll notice some things have changed. The look of this blog is different, as well as the name. I wanted to simplify and find a focus. With those goals came the name “love. run. cook. loves running. loves to cook.” Because when I think about it, those are 2 things that I really enjoy doing for myself (and anyone else who will eat what I make ;)). I never would have guessed I’d be any sort of athlete, and here I am training for my third half marathon! I’m not claiming to be the fastest or the best, but I am claiming to be a runner–and I love it! I also love to try new recipes! Oh my goodness I could stay on Pinterest for hours finding new recipes to try. And to me, there are few things better than a new recipe rocking your socks off because it’s that good. So here’s to the first recipe of the new year… I hope you’ll enjoy it!

I stay pretty cold in the winter. Which means that I like to eat warm food, and I especially like to start out my day with something warm and comforting. That’s just what this recipe is. Everything good that you know about pumpkin pie in your morning oatmeal. Yum!

what you’ll need:

  • 1/3 cup oats (quick or old fashioned)
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (I recommend Trader Joe’s brand)
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • pinch of salt, to taste
  • 1/3-1/2 can of canned pureed pumpkin
  • 1 Tbsp. flax or chia seeds
  • 2 heaping Tbsp. raisins
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped pecans
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp. brown sugar, optional
  • 1 Tbsp. Smart Balance, optional

how you’ll do it:

combine oats and spices in a small pot

oats + spices

add milk and cook over medium heat for 4 minutes
oats + milk

then add pureed pumpkin, chia seeds, raisins, and pecans.
stir and cook for 5 minutes
add more almond milk as needed if it is too thick
oats + goodies

enjoy!
pumpkin pie oatmeal

Makes 2 smaller servings or 1 big serving. Refrigerate and reheat as necessary.

Leave a Reply

