Main Dish, Soup, Vegetable, Vegetarian

Broccoli Cheeze Soup

The weather this week has been wet, to say the very least. I don’t remember the last time it rained for days straight. I mean, kids got out of school this week it’s been that bad. And since it’s only been a few degrees shy of turning into snow, it’s just been that wet, cold-to-the-bones kind of cold. Or maybe that’s just me. Anyways, this was the perfect soup for a night like that. I made this soup earlier this week for supper and it definitely surprised me! I found the recipe on Pinterest, and the description was compelling enough to make it onto our weekly menu. And I am not sorry. Oh no, in fact I am so pleased I will absolutely be making this again, and before you have time to question it, I urge you to try it too! (Really!)

what you’ll need:

  • 1 cup cashews, roasted + unsalted
  • 5 cups vegetable broth, divided 3 + 2
  • 4 1/2 cups chopped broccoli (2 large crowns)
  • 2 large potatoes, cubed
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp. basil
  • sea salt to taste
  • fresh ground pepper to taste

how you’ll do it:

add 3 cups vegetable broth, potatoes, onion, and garlic to large pot
cook over medium heat about 5 minutes
add chopped broccoli
DSCN2834

cook covered for about 10 minutes, stirring once or twice
meanwhile, combine cashews and remaining broth in blender and blend until smooth
DSCN2838 DSCN2829 

add cashew “cheeze” to the soup, plus basil, salt, & pepper and let simmer for about 15 more minutes
DSCN2839

it even looks like the real thing!

I had this for leftovers the next night and then again the following day for lunch and it heated up great each time! It’s a really thick, hearty soup. Feel free to add more broth or water to thin it out if desired.

*Note: I only had 4 cups of vegetable broth so I used 1 cup of water in the beginning and it worked fine.

Leave a Reply

