Breakfast, No-Bake, Snack, Vegetarian

Apple Oatmeal Smoothie

My goal is to try at least one new recipe each week, photograph it, and post it here for y’all to see. This week’s experiment is an Apple Oatmeal Smoothie. First, let me say that I always, always, to a fault have high hopes for smoothies. Reading the descriptions and seeing the perfectly posed pictures has me hook, line and sinker believing it will rock my taste-buds. And, sadly, I am more often then not mistaken. [Especially when it comes to pumpkin smoothies. They have fallen short every. single. time.] I must just be a glutton for smoothie punishment. Also, most smoothie recipes have a banana in them, and in case you don’t know this about me, bananas and I do not get along. And when I say don’t get along, I mean when I’m a parent one day who has to eat food that my kids think is yucky just to set a good example of it being yummy, I will not set that example with bananas. No siree.

So, true to form, here I go again attempting to make another smoothie trusting that this one will be good. And you know what? This time, for the first time, it was true! I’m not kidding. I would never joke about something of this magnitude. If you like smoothies, and if you like apples, and if you hate bananas always weaseling their way into your smoothies, this recipe is for you! 🙂

what you’ll need:

  • 1/4 cup oats, old fashioned or quick
  • 1 1/2 tsp. flax seed
  • 1 cup Trader Joe’s unsweetened vanilla almond milk (can use dairy milk)
  • 1 cup unsweetened, natural applesauce
  • 2 heaping Tbsp. creamy peanut butter (I use JIF natural)
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2-1 Tbsp. honey (or maple syrup), optional     Makes 2 1-cup servings

how you’ll do it:

add oats and flax seed to blender and pulse until it has the texture of fine powder
Photo Jan 22, 8 56 36 PM Photo Jan 22, 8 58 22 PM

add the rest of the ingredients
Photo Jan 22, 9 01 57 PM
(at this point I realize my bullet blender isn’t big enough and I transfer it to my full-size blender)

Photo Jan 22, 9 07 16 PM

blend until smooth, pour into glass mason jar
chill overnight (or at least 4 hours)
Photo Jan 22, 9 14 22 PM

The original recipe calls for 1/4 cup yogurt + 3/4 cup applesauce, but I didn’t have any yogurt on hand. Also, chilling this definitely makes the difference. I made it last night before I went to bed and tasted it. It was good then, but a bit runny and not super cold. This morning, it had thickened up and was perfectly chilled. I drank half this morning while the other half is back in the fridge waiting for tomorrow!

Recipe adapted from here

2 thoughts on “Apple Oatmeal Smoothie”

Leave a Reply

