Breakfast, Dessert, Muffins, Snack, Vegetarian

Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

Yesterday I posted my “On the Menu” plan for this week, where I planned on making homemade English Muffins or Black Bean Brownies as my “Recipe of the Week.” It took me all of the time between blogging that and eating supper to decide on a different recipe for this week–ha! You see, I wasn’t really craving lots of chocolate (although this recipe has chocolate chips in it) and although I loved the idea of a warm, soft smothered-in-honey English muffin, they were going to take just a bit longer than I wanted to spend cooking. And so my mind immediately came back to this little recipe I have been saving, and it was a good choice! I made a few changes to the original recipe, including using mostly whole wheat flour instead of only all-purpose, and I really like the finished product. I will warn you, though, that the whole wheat flour makes these more dense that only all-purpose would, but I like that flavor/texture. I hope you’ll try these too!

what you’ll need:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup unrefined, raw sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 egg white
  • 2/3 cup fresh strawberries, chopped
  • 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips

how you’ll do it:

preheat the oven to 350*
spray 20 mini muffin tins (or 10 regular ones) with non-stick spray
in one large mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and cinnamon
Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

in a smaller mixing bowl, combine sugars and applesauce until smooth.
then add in egg white until smooth
Strawberry Chocolate Chip MuffinsStrawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

pour sugar mixture into flour mixture until just combined
Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

coarsely chop the strawberries
(note, you don’t want HUGE chunks, but the bigger the better to really get the flavor and juice when biting into the muffins!)
Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

add strawberries and chocolate chips to batter mixture and fold in
Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

using a mini scoop, scoop batter into 20 mini muffin tins
Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

bake for 15 minutes, until slightly golden brown
(if using whole wheat flour, you won’t see much color change or rise)
Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

enjoy!
Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

Recipe adapted from here.

5 thoughts on “Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins”

Leave a Reply

